Lucy Burns Q&A

Lucy Burns illustration

Okay here goes

 What are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently drawing up some images for a local restaurant which will involve lots of hand drawn typography which I love doing. Aside from that, I’m also collaborating with English Literature students at St Andrews University. The project is called “100 100 word plays” it looks like it will be really challenging and exciting.

Where do you work on your illustrations?

I take my sketchbook everywhere with me, but most of my drawing gets done at home in my bedroom which isn’t ideal. It makes switching off from my work difficult, I often lose track of time. I’m really looking forward to having my own studio again.

What’s it like living and working in west wales as an artist?

It’s good. I’ve been back in Pembrokeshire for a year and I’ve been really appreciative of the support and response my work has been given. People are really encouraging. Obviously the landscape feeds in to my work and has always influenced my drawings, so I’m grateful for that too.

What or who inspires your creative work?

I have a stack of illustration and design books to keep me inspired. My favourite artists are Carson Ellis, Charles Keeping, Laura Carlin, Ralph Fasanella and Jonny Hannah. Kyffin Williams and Michel Delacroix too. The list could go on forever.

What do you dream of?

Travelling more. Creating a book of my travel illustrations, and having it published one day.

Leave a Reply

